Time and Space to Think

I just spent a jam-packed 5 weeks – 2 weeks planning, arranging, organizing, fighting-for and getting ready for my trip; 2 weeks traveling, meeting people, navigating and learning; and 1 week jamming a month’s worth of work to meet the 30 April accounting deadline.

I built time into my travel schedule. I had several overnight traveling options and I stayed for 2 days in Doha after the Summit. I did that because I know how important it is to have that time and space to think.

Still, for the past 2 days I find myself sitting in my chair staring out the window. Then feeling guilty. I have contacts to follow up, blog posts to write, workshops to organize and client work that still needs finishing.

If I don’t take the time to think, I will lose the opportunity to learn deeply about these experiences. If I don’t take that time, I will slip into old habits, doing the same old things in the same old way regardless of the changes I identified that I want to make.

I give myself permission to sit staring out the window. I give you permission to do the same thing.

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

